• About Chairman
  • Chairman's Message

Birth and Family

The living legend R.P.Sarathy Chettiyar from Andhra Pradesh-Komaliur is born to K.V.Radhakrishnan Chettiyar and Mayalakshmi Ammal on 14.11.1931; he is also the grandson of Vishwanatha Chettiyar. After his marriage with Miss. Vasantha in 1957, he was blessed with four children- Jayashree, Latha, Shiva and Murali.

Education is not a Barrier for Success

Great people have proved that education is not at all a barrier for achievement and he is not an exception too. With only a little education (8th Standard) he has achieved great heights in his life.

Journey to Success

This hard worker started his career as a coffee seller and cloth merchant .By his relentless hard work and with the help of his friend Venkatrama Iyer, he started a coffee shop named “ Sarathy Coffee”. Later he imparted his knowledge and skill to his son Murali, who started Narasu’s Roller Flour Mill and Narasu’s Spinning Mill.

Promoting Education and Public Welfare

After reaching the pinnacle of his life, he completely dedicated his life to promote education and public welfare. 

It includes,
  • 8.5 lakhs to the opening of New AV Theatre in Sri Saradha College, Salem.
  • With his initiation and efforts of 100 committee members Vysya College was established.
  • Not only in education but also he involved himself in public welfare too.
  • He has organized Thiyagarajar festival in Chinna Kadai Street, Salem.
  • He constructed Sri Mahalakshmi Hall during his 60th Birthday.

His Achievement

  • He has been elected as the president of Coffee Board Association for seven times.
  • Vice President of Vasavi College, Erode.
  • President of Kambar Kalagam, Salem
  • Narasu’s Institute of Technology (NSIT) was established by him.
  • Thus this living legend serves as an inspiration and role model for the upcoming youngsters.

A State Level Conference of the Arya Vysyas was held in Salem, Tamil Nadu in 1988. The conference had been conducted successfully by forming many committees under the chairmanship of Thiru. O.V.S.Pandurangan and a fund-raising programme had been conducted by the “Nalvar Committee” comprising Thiru. Kochalam, Thiru. Dwarkanathan, Thiru.Raja and Thiru. Rajendran. This committee handed over the fund raised to the steering committee. The organizers of the conference planned to do a noble task in remembrance of this conference and that resulted in the formation of Vasavi Vidya Trust.

With Thiru O.V.S. Pandurangan, Thiru.R.Balakumar, Thiru.G.Manikkam, Thiru.V.Iyyannan, Thiru.N.Vittal Das, Thiru.S.C.Natarajan, Thiru.S.A.V.R.Krishnan as Founder Trustees and Thiru.R.Navaneethan Chettiar, Thiru.A.Lakshmi Narayanan, Thiru.R.Balasamy Chettiar, Thiru.S.N.Venugopal Chettiar, Thiru.T.M.Bangaru Chettiar, Thiru.P.V.Jaganathan Chettiar, Thiru.R.Nirmal Prakash, Thiru.K.S.Kothandaraman Chettiar, Thiru.V.N.Geetha Krishnan and Thiru.B.Ramamurthy Chettiar as Trust Founder Members, Vasavi Vidya Trust was formed. The aim of the Trust was to serve the cause of education, help the aged and construct hospital to serve the poor. As education is of prime importance, it had been first decided to start a college in the name of ‘Vysya College’ in Salem.

As there were no self financing Co-educational college, it was thought that it would be good, if a self-financing co-educational college was started in Salem. With this noble thought in mind, Vysya College was started.

Seven Founder Trustees of Vasavi Vidya Trust, with the mission to give equal representation to all Vysyas from various parts of Tamil Nadu, enrolled 205 life members in addition to the 16 existing life members. Then ten acres of land was purchased 7 kms from Salem on the Salem-Chennai National Highway. On 29.07.1990, in the presence of Hon'ble Minister for Agriculture Thiru.S.Veerapandi Arumugam and under the Chairmanship of the Central Minister for Industries Hon'ble Thiru.S.Murasoli Maran, the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Thiru M. Karunanidhi unveiled this college.

Thirty five members of management committee was elected in the general body meeting of Vasavi Vidya Trust.Thiru.G.Manikkam Chettiar as Chairman, Thiru.J.Rajendra Prasad as Correspondent cum Secretary and Thiru.S.C.Natarajan as Treasurer were elected. Thiru.S.N.Ramakrishnan, Thiru.V.K.Muniappa Chettiar, Thiru.S.A.V.R.Krishan, Thiru.R.Nirmal Prakash and Thiru.G.Prabakaran were elected as Vice-chairman and Thiru.V.N.Geetha Krishan was Joint Secretary. At present the executive committee with 26 members, the college has been functioning in an exemplary way.
I wish the college to grow more and disseminate knowledge in all spheres of life.